Tags

, , , , , ,

This weekend I was whisked away for a romantic break at a mystery destination. A couple of months ago my boyfriend booked a room at the Jamaica Inn (after which Daphne Du Maurier’s novel is named) in Cornwall. A week or two ago I mentioned my desire to visit the Eden Project, so without me knowing a thing about it everything was arranged and on Friday evening – after a 4 hour drive – everything was revealed.

To him it was ‘just a bunch of plants’, but to me the Eden Project was genuinely fascinating… if you’ve not heard of it here’s a little bit more information:

The Eden Project does much more than offer a memorable day out in Cornwall. Eden is also a charity and social enterprise.

As well as creating stunning gardens and laying on fantastic arts and music events, much of our energy goes into:

  • running transformational social and environmental projects on our doorstep and around the world
  • creating unforgettable learning experiences for students
  • doing valuable research into plants and conservation
  • making sure we run our operations in the greenest possible way.

Yellow dahlia flowers outside Eden Biome

Or visit their website to find out more: http://www.edenproject.com/

It was an amazing little oasis that made me think more deeply about our impact on the world; the bigger picture when it comes to conservation. It felt great to support something which I think is so important.

