Tags

, ,

Thanks to everyone who responded to yesterday’s post, as I visited your blogs I found myself admiring the courage of several people who were opening up and sharing their own experiences of mental illness.

It got me thinking about being vulnerable and sharing personal experiences: most of my posts relate to actions rather than emotions and don’t give away much about myself (I don’t think I do anyway!)

Today I thought I’d share something I wrote when I was feeling stressed and unable to sleep; at times life overwhelms us all a little…

Waves

 Suddenly I was drowning, choking,

The emotions of the past overwhelming.

Every poor decision, every pain,

The loss of a child,

The death of a relationship,

Washing over me in waves.

The past unrelenting,

Leaving my body broken,

Washed up on the shore,

Waiting for the next tide.

