Tags

, , , ,

I had no idea there were so many things you could do with your unwanted underwear!

There are actually ‘bra banks’ across the UK to enable you to drop off your donations:

http://www.againstbreastcancer.org.uk/get-involved/fundraising/recycling/513/bra-recycling/

Or charities that ask if you’re visiting overseas that you simply pack an extra item to donate!

Or it’s even possible to post items directly abroad to be distributed to women who need them:

http://www.upliftbras.org

I think I have problems because I’ve put on a few pounds and I can’t seem to get a good, comfortable fitting bra – but I have loads of options; various stores or shopping on-line (and frankly I just need to shift some of the extra weight to make life a lot easier). Compared to the difficulties faced by young women unable to go to school during their period because they don’t have any pants, this is clearly a ‘first world problem’.

I was genuinely surprised to discover that bras are difficult to get hold of and that anyone would want second-hand bras. There are obviously lots of wider issues here: why can’t these be bought/made locally? do these women really want bras – second-hand or otherwise? etc. Ultimately I decided that if there are women who need underwear (and I have some I can’t wedge myself in to) then I’m comfortable posting some directly to an area where it might help someone else.

Today I’ve posted underwear to Botswana as part of the Uplift Project.

“Often the bra received through Uplift will be the only bra that woman owns.”

