Tags

, , , , , , ,

Until today I’d never heard of LibreOffice, but I’m pretty impressed with it. Let me explain…

I finally decided to face the marking I brought home to do over the summer; marking means updating spreadsheets, but I’ve got a new laptop and I couldn’t bring myself to buy Microsoft Office – I only really need it for work… I’d been using a free trial at the end of term and figured I’d just get my new school to sort me out with Office in September. None of that solved my problem today.

So I was ‘Googling’ for a solution when I came across this free software that’s compatible with, and works like, Office. I’ve updated my spreadsheets and it hasn’t cost me a penny. Impressive, right?

LibreOffice is made available by volunteers around the globe, backed by a charitable Foundation. Any donation is voluntary, but I was perfectly happy to make a donation. Have a look at their values below and I think you’ll understand why…

You can find out more about this or download the software from their website:  http://www.documentfoundation.org

THE DOCUMENT FOUNDATION VALUES

We commit ourselves: We reject:
to eliminate the digital divide in society by giving everyone access to office productivity tools free of charge to enable them to participate as full citizens in the 21st century the ownership of office productivity tools by monopoly suppliers which imposes a de-facto tax on global electronic free speech and penalises the economically disadvantaged
to support the preservation of mother tongues by encouraging all peoples to translate, document, support, and promote our office productivity tools in their mother tongue the creeping domination of computer desktops by a single language forcing people to learn a foreign language before they can express themselves electronically
to allow users of office productivity software to retain the intellectual property in the documents they create by use of open document formats and open standards the ownership of file formats by proprietary software companies – documents belong to their creators, not software vendors
to an open and transparent peer-reviewed software development process where technical excellence is valued a closed software development process where errors can lie hidden and poor quality is accepted

 

