zara exchange

An opportunity presented itself to me today in the unlikeliest way…

As I stood in the queue at an ‘unnamed’ high street store, I could hear the sales assistant explaining a ridiculous exchange policy: basically if you exchange something the new item must be for the same or a greater value, there’s no refund of the difference… the sales assistant encouraged them to buy an extra item to make up the value… but there was nothing they wanted…

Normally at this point I’d have been irritated: at the store’s policy, at the sales assistant for not working around it, at the customer for not dealing with it better – but today I decided to help out. I was slightly worried about butting in to their conversation, but I went for it… I gave them one of my items and the cash to pay for it; their spend met the required threshold and they left happy with cash for the difference and I left with a good feeling.

 

