Tags

, , ,

tor view holiday actions

I’ve spent the last 3 nights in Len’s Hut in Somerset (http://www.torviewshepherdshuts.co.uk/booking.html), so I’ve stayed off the internet and focused on having quality time with my partner. But just because I wasn’t blogging, doesn’t mean I wasn’t doing things…

Action 98: Re-using and going the extra mile

You may well know that I took part in ‘Walk in  Her Shoes’ earlier this month (Action 41), the charity provided a pedometer and asked that if it was in good condition and you didn’t need it that you return it – at your own expense. As they pointed out this reduces the charity’s costs, but there would have been a time when I’d have felt that I’d done my bit raising sponsorship without paying to return the pedometer… However, on Tuesday my other half helpfully popped to the Post Office and sent it on its way.

Action 99: Pulling the plug

Before we left I actually took a few minutes and went around switching off and unplugging anything I could, a small action, but something I wouldn’t normally bother with, just because it’s an effort.

Action 100: Supporting an independent coffee shop, supporting the Waterfall Charity

When we stopped for coffee at ‘Strangers with Coffee’ in Wells (the highest rated ‘restaurant’ in Wells on Trip Advisor), I noticed they were supporting Waterfall through events this month – although there was nothing happening while we were there. I asked for them to donate our change to the project.

While the world’s population tripled in the 20th century, the use of renewable water resources has grown six-fold. A billion people don’t have access to safe water on the planet. Within the next fifty years, the world population will increase by another 40 to 50 %, help us to get the most basic human need to people who can’t.

http://www.waterfallcharity.org/

Action 101: Supporting Tusk at Longleat

On the way back we visited Longleat Safari Park and had a fantastic time, despite the pretty high ticket prices we supported the charity Tusk promoted by Longleat for the work they are doing to help animals.

http://www.tusk.org/

So I accept these are all pretty minor actions, but I’m a realist-idealist: I want to make the world a better place, but sometimes it has to be very small steps to be realistic and achievable.

