Tags

, , ,

hard and fast

This morning I dragged myself out of bed, walked into the town centre, dressed up like some sort of crazy yellow leprechaun to collect for The Marie Curie Cancer Care Daffodil Appeal. This was what I volunteered to do for action no. 15.

So I’ve decided to treat myself a little bit today and take an action I’ll enjoy, I went shopping on the British Heart Foundation website and purchased a t-shirt promoting their ‘Hard and Fast’ campaign. Who knows as well as making the purchase and supporting the BHF, maybe the knowledge of how to perform effective CPR will literally save a life.

The following quote is from the St John Ambulance website.

30,000 people have a cardiac arrest each year outside of a hospital and yet only one-third receive bystander CPR. Too many people die when first aid could have given them a chance to live.

When I go back to work next week I’ll be asking questions about first aid training for students. The BHF are calling for ELS, including vital CPR, to be a mandatory part of the National Curriculum in England. Stating that secondary school students should be taught it from year 7, and their skills should be refreshed every year until they leave school. Whilst it might not be mandatory yet it might help save a live, so I’ll be finding out whether we can introduce some training for students now.

hard and fast female

