Tags

, , ,

Image

Celebrated annually on 8 March, the UN’s 2014 theme for International Women’s Day is: “Equality for women is progress for all”.  – See more at: http://www.unwomen.org/en/news/in-focus/international-womens-day#sthash.9kmp9QGQ.dpuf

So I thought I’d celebrate in my own way by sharing…

 

Equality for Women

I am woman hear me sing,

I can do almost anything.

I can fight, I can dance, I can laugh, I can sing,

Occasionally even shatter a glass ceiling.

 

I am woman you won’t hear me weep,

I keep my eyes down and cook and sweep.

I work, I mother, I slave, I dream,

Occasionally glimpsing paradise in my sleep.

 

I am woman or I soon will be,

I have yet to find out what’s in store for me.

I’ll be sold, I’ll be bought and I’ll be owned.

Occasionally I’ll believe that one day I’ll be free.

 

I am woman hear me fight,

Tooth and nail for every right.

So all women can dance and laugh and sing,

So all women can do almost anything.

 

Happy International Women’s Day!

