Tags

, ,

The Extreme Poverty Line is a term used to define the level at which people are barely able to subsist. In 2005 the World Bank defined this amount as £1 per day – there are actually a staggering 1.2 billion people living on less than £1 per day to cover all their expenses.

Image

‘Live Below the Line’ is a charity campaign challenging people to live on less than £1 per day for all their food and drink for 5 days. So I’ve signed up to participate in this year’s challenge, I’ve set a fundraising target of £50 because honestly including what I spend on alcohol I’ll probably save £50 in 5 days…

If you’d like to find out more or take part please visit the charity’s website:  https://www.livebelowtheline.com/uk/the_cause

The good news is that the number of people living in extreme poverty has halved since 1990, I hope in another 20-25 years that decrease will have continued and the term ‘Extreme Poverty Line’ becomes an obsolete term.

