Tags

, , ,

Some days the action I choose to take comes at me like a flash of genius or inspiration… and then there are days like today. I feel utterly devoid of ideas (and intelligence, frankly).

So I searched the web and stumbled across the following site listing 50 ways to help the planet.

http://www.50waystohelp.com/

Most of these ideas were things I already do or have tried, then I read this…

“USE COTTON SWABS WITH A PAPERBOARD SPINDLE
Some brands of cotton swabs have a paperboard spindle while others are made of plastic.

If 10% of U.S. households switched to a paperboard spindle, the petroleum energy saved per year would be equivalent to over 150,000 gallons of gasoline.”

A crazy fact! I noticed today I am running low on these, I’ve never considered/cared whether they were plastic or cardboard, but I’ll be checking when I buy the next lot.

It’s hard to understand why the ones made from plastic are even still produced and I can’t help wondering, if more people understood the impact would they make better choices about their purchases?

Image

Part of me wonders if I should apologise for not being more exciting today, but if like me you’ve never given this any thought, well, now you know! I think it’s probably a small change worth making. 🙂

