Tags

, , ,

When I was in my teens I decided the world’s problems were too vast and too numerous to solve. I gave up being vegetarian. I started wearing leather. I gave up worrying about recycling. I stopped watching the news: it’s depressing and there’s nothing you can do about it. People were (and still are) starving every day – so being veggie to save a few cows just seemed ridiculous.

What started as my new year’s resolution to try and make sure I leave the world a little better for my being in it, seems to be taking over my life: I’m worried that my social conscience is turning me into a bit of a bore, however here are today’s thoughts and action…

In some of the world’s poorest countries girls as young as 3 spend their day fetching water for their family. This means they can’t attend school. Their brothers can.

Reducing gender inequality with something as basic as ensuring a safe water supply can have a huge impact; girls are able to attend school instead of fetching water. Knowledge is power, right?

Research by the Department for International Development shows:

  • In Africa, children of mothers who have spent five years in primary education are 40% more likely to live beyond the age of five.  
  • An educated woman is 50% more likely to have her children immunised.
  • In Africa, Asia and Latin America, women with seven or more years of schooling have between two and three fewer children than women with less than three years of education.

Image

I’ve signed up to take part in Walk In Her Shoes organised by Care. I’ll be walking 10,000 steps (or 5 miles) a day, for a week. I’ll be asking friends, family and colleagues to donate to support this cause. In fact I’ve asked some of my female colleagues to become a team and take part in this during March – together we can raise more.

If you’d like to read more about this or make a donation please follow the link below.

https://walkinhershoes.everydayhero.com/uk/cathie

I’m a big believer in leading by example, so I’ll probably be the first person to donate too! 🙂

