Tags

, , , ,

Image

Be Humankind was a 2008 campaign for Oxfam, but I thought this was a great way to put it: ‘On our own we’re only human, together we’re humankind!’

Oxfam share some shocking statistics on their website and through their marketing campaigns, for example:

“The 85 wealthiest people in the world are as rich as the 3.5 billion poorest people in the world.”

“Nearly 1 out of 3 people lives in poverty.”

“2000 people killed every day by Arms.”

But they also share these facts….

“In April 2013, the UN agreed an Arms Trade Treaty, thanks to a decade of persistent pressure by Oxfam supporters and others.”

“Over 40 years of lobbying by Oxfam and others finally paid off in March 2013 when the UK Government finally made good on a promise to spend 0.7% of national income on aid – a promise that will lift millions of lives for good.”

There are lots of ways to support Oxfam’s work on their website.

Previously I’ve taken part in charity events, running the Great South Run to raise funds for British Red Cross or taking part in Race for Life for Cancer Research, but at the moment I don’t think I’d manage that kind of an event. (If you read yesterday’s post I’m planning on walking the London to Brighton Challenge…)

What I can do though is volunteer to support Oxfam’s runner in the Reading Half Marathon, so I have: being Humankind.

 

