Tags

, , , ,

armchair activist
Today as I drove home from work I realised I had loads of work still to do and no idea how to change the world today, especially with very limited time! As I skimmed through my e-mail after I got in, I came across one from http://sumofus.org/ a website I got involved with last year. “SumOfUs is a movement of consumers, workers and shareholders speaking with one voice to counterbalance the growing power of large corporations. Join us on our journey as we seek to make the world a better place for ourselves, our children and all who share our planet.” However after signing a petition for something I felt particularly strongly about, I soon decided I didn’t have time to read and act on all their e-mails – I won’t sign a petition without making sure I’m reasonably informed about it and I always feel there aren’t enough hours in the day! Excuses: this year I’m going to read every e-mail and try to act accordingly, starting today.
So maybe this kind of ‘armchair activism’ achieves very little and there are few things more annoying than: ‘like this status to show you’re against child abuse’. Who is in favour of child abuse? But more to the point, what good does it do to ‘like’ something?
Whether signing the online petitions e-mailed to me by SumOfUs.org will make any difference I don’t know (although they do e-mail updates to let you know the outcomes – good or bad). What I do know, is that it’s making me more aware of the world around me and what could improve it.
